The Annual GPM Global Sustainability Awards annual awards.png

Green Project Management® (GPM®) has established the Sustainability Awards program to honor and showcase theachievement and impact of individuals and projects in the advancement of sustainable development thru the implementation of sustainable (green) project management practices. The program represents the achievement in sustainability across all continents of the globe and through a network of training partners encompassing approximately 145 countries. Each year, GPM bestows awards across a number of categories including: 

Project of the Year is bestowed upon a project manager or organization that exemplifies the impact and relevance between sustainability and project success.

Individual Sustainability Award for an individual for their efforts in advancing sustainability in project management

Research Award supporting the implementation or advancement of sustainable project management

Student Award/ Fundamentals Award for a student enrolled in a tertiary (eg University or equivalent) Masters level course which incorporates Sustainable Project Management or Sustainability Practices or a GPM Practitioner Level Course.

• Partner Award for a GPM solutions/training partner, awarded for committment to sustainable development and excellence in delivery of GPM services.

All entries judged against the published criteria by a team of industry specialists and peers who will be independent of all submissions. Judges decisions shall be final and no correspondence shall be entered into. Submissions will be assessed on the submitted material ONLY and in accordance with these Submission Guidelines. Logos and pictures are expected as supporting material but will not be formally assessed. 

All entries must demonstrate the achievement of sustainability and shall be measured against such guidelines as - the United Nations Global Compact’s ten principles (ie relating to aspects of people, planet, and profits), realization of the Millennium Development Goals – and the use of the PRiSM methodology and P5 standard. 

Project of the Year

This award was established in 2011 and is bestowed upon a project manager or organization that demonstrates the impact and relevance between sustainability and project success from both a process and objective perspective. Projects must be submitted by November 1st of each year.


2016 - Creation of the Green Infrastructure and Sustainable University Environment, Finacial University under the Government of the Russian Federation
2015 - Design and installation of cost effective aerial security lighting – Mbabane Shanty Towns
2014 - Administradors Comercial Paseo Fase 1, S.A. - Paseo Cayala Program, Guatemala City
2013 - South Australian Water Corporation - The Adelaide Desalination Plant project, 

2012 - Sarfraz Malik, Pakistan  -  Renewable Energy Application to Mobile Data Networks
2011 - Mark Reeson, United Kingdom - Early Hazard Removal of Nuclear Power, 2011

Fundamentals Award


This award was established in 2012 and is bestowed to a course participant who displays the most innovation in their in course exercise (EnVex).  Every participant in a GPM PRiSM Practitioner Course is eligible for the award and must submit their case study by November 1st of each year. 


2016  - Student Team of Victor Benoit, Juliette Brunet, Jean Michel Chauvet, Alice Chen and Martin Trou - Skema Business School, Lille France
2015 - Timothy Andersen - United States - Coca-Cola
2014 - Claudia Palacios - Nicaragua - UCI Global School of Project Management
2013 - Anna Wang, China - Volkswagen Financial Services
2012 - Rosana Fransescato, United States - Adobe Systems

Sustainability Award


This award was established in 2011 and is bestowed upon an individual for their efforts in advancing sustainability in project management. Recipients are nominated by their peers.


2016 - Aaron Troy Cassar, Australia
2015 - Dr Norsaidatul Akmar Mazelan, Malaysia
2014 - Ron Schipper, Netherlands

2013 - A.J. Gilbert Silvius, Netherlands
2012 - Paola Morghese, Italy
2011 - Jeff Hodgkinson, United States

Partner Award

The partner of the year award was launched in 2015 to recognize committment to sustainable development and excellence in the delivery of GPM services.

2016 - UCI Global School of Project Management | Costa Rica
2015 - Language Works Sdn Bhd | Malaysia 

2017 Awards Schedule

  • Award Submissions August 1st, 2017 - November 1st, 2017
  • Awards Commission Review and Winner Selection - November 2nd - 30th, 2017
  • Award winners announced December 4th, 2017.



Connect to us on Social Media!  

 Youtube Linkedin  Twitter.png Facebook

How to contact us

GPM Headquarters - USA
phoneicon1 +1 800 580 3719
phoneicon1 +1 313 444 4762
faxicon +1 866 537 1525
Ofc. Hours: M-F 9AM - 5PM Eastern Time

Regional Offices
GPM AsiaPac
GPM China
GPM Latin America

Web Statistics